It’s My Party And I’ll Cry If I Want To

 

 

On April 24th, I turned 48 (almost half a century *gasp*) to very little fanfare.

Actually…to no fanfare. Fanfare is too loud, I was too nauseous for cake, and my Migremlins were screaming enough, thanks.

Sure, my family texted (proof that they know or I’ve drilled into them that phone calls hurt) birthday wishes. And Facebook friends galore posted well-wishes also…but here at home…it was forgotten. And that hurt.

I have chronic illnesses, not a lack of emotion.

So if I want to cry over my nonParty on my Unbirthday, I think I get a free pass to.

Big-Ol-Pity-Party-Free-Pass.png

And like the girl said, “You would cry too, if it happened to you.”

(Also because my feelings are valid and matter, no matter who says otherwise.)

Be well, or as well as you can,

Selena

Leave a comment